General information

Capital – Kampala | Currency – Uganda Shilling | Timezone – GMT +3



 Hotels and Lodges      Highlights      Outdoors     

Airports       Airlines      Culture and Traditions

Accessible Tours

The ATO Uganda Office is based in Kampala

Please contact Etimu, founder of Purpose Safaris, at the Uganda Office via if you have questions on traveling to Uganda.

You can reach him at

Visa – Please find all information about visa and passes here Visa info Uganda.

Languages – The official languages are English and Swahili although “any other language may be used like French, Germany, Chinese, Spanish, Dutch , Arabic , Indian and several others are also spoken thou on a relatively small scale. Additionally, a variety of more than 50 local native languages are spoken with Luganda being a central local language widely spoken across the country.

Republic of Uganda

Uganda is located in the East Central Africa. It is bordered to the east by Kenya, to the north by South Sudan to the west by the D.R.Congo to the south-west by Rwanda, and to the south by Tanzania. The southern part of the country includes a substantial portion of Lake Victoria shared with Kenya and Tanzania.

Uganda is in the African Great Lakes region. Uganda also lies within the Nile Basin, and has a varied but generally a modified equatorial climate.

Uganda takes its name from the Buganda kingdom, which encompasses a large portion of the south of the country, including the capital Kampala. The people of Uganda were hunters and gatherers until 1,700 to 2,300 years ago, when Bantu speaking populations migrated to the southern parts of the country.
Beginning in 1894, the area was ruled as a protectorate by the UK, who established administrative law across the territory. Uganda gained independence from the UK on 9 October 1962.